Skip to main content

Jeanette Winterson

As a Guest

1 segment

Jeanette Winterson on Her Novels and Pentecostal Upbringing.

Writer Jeanette Winterson. Her autobiographical first novel, Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit, is the coming-out story of a young British girl raised in an evangelical household who must come to the religion's severe view of right and wrong. Winterson was the recipient of the Whitbread Prize for best first novel and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize for best writer under thirty-five. Her new book, "The Passion," is a historical novel set at the time of the Napoleonic wars.


Did you know you can create a shareable playlist?


There are more than 22,000 Fresh Air segments.

Let us help you find exactly what you want to hear.
Just play me something
Your Queue

Would you like to make a playlist based on your queue?

Generate & Share View/Edit Your Queue