Skip to main content

Women writers

Filter by

14 results

Sort:

Newest

42:31

Delia Ephron On The Closeness And Complexity Of Sisterhood

Novelist Delia Ephron says that losing her older sister Nora was like "losing an arm." But for all their collaboration and closeness, Delia writes about the complications of sisterhood in her new collection of autobiographical essays, Sister Mother Husband Dog (etc.).

35:04

'The Woman Upstairs': A Saga Of Anger And Thwarted Ambition.

In her new novel, Emperor's Children author Claire Messud explores the complicated relationship between two women: Nora, who longed to be an artist and have a family but failed, and the woman Nora befriends, who puts her art first and built a family as well.

06:02

Book Critic Maureen Corrigan: Queens of Pulp

Corrigan reviews several reprints of books by female detective fiction writers, including Anna Katherine Green's That Affair Next Door: And, Lost Man's Lane, Metta Fuller Victor's The Dead Letter & The Figure Eight, (both from Duke University Press) and re-issues from The Feminist Press, Skyscraper by Faith Baldwin, In a Lonely Place by Dorothy B. Hughes and The Girls in 3-B by Valerie Taylor.

35:44

Novelist Carol Shields

Shields died July 17, 2003, of breast cancer. She won a Pulitzer Prize for her best-selling novel The Stone Diaries. Her books are often about middle class people leading quiet lives. Her other novels include Larry's Party, which won Britain's Orange Prize, The Republic of Love and Swann: A Mystery. She also wrote a biography of Jane Austen as well as plays, poetry and story collections. In 1998 Shields was diagnosed with breast cancer. At the time of the interview, she was in stage 4, a late stage of the disease. Her most recent novel, Unless, was written after her diagnosis.

45:25

Writer Nancy Mairs on Living "Waist-High in the World"

Mairs is the author of several books, including "Ordinary Time," "Voice Lessons," and "Plaintext." In many of her books she deals openly and honestly about the progression of her multiple sclerosis, and it's effect on her life and marriage. Her latest book is "Waist-High in the World."

15:23

Writer Mary Karr Reflects on Her Mother

Karr has two volumes of poetry The Devil's Tour, and Abacus. She won Pushcart Prizes for both poetry and essays, and her work appears in such magazines as Granta, Ploughshares, and Vogue. She has a new memoir called The Liars' Club, about growing up with her eccentric and secretive mother. (Rebroadcast)

21:19

Remembering Radical Writer Jessica Mitford

Mitford died of cancer at the age of 78 on Tuesday (July 23). She was considered one of the premiere investigative journalists of her day, a muckraker in the tradition of Sinclair Lewis and John Dos Passos. Her targets included the Famous Writers School, a Midwest correspondence school, and the U.S. penal system ("Kind and Usual Punishment: The Prison Business"). Mitford's most recent book, "The American Way of Birth" (1992), declares that doctors perform too many C-Sections and de-legitimize midwifery.

15:39

Writer Mary Karr Reflects on Her Mother

Karr has two volumes of poetry The Devil's Tour, and Abacus. She won Pushcart Prizes for both poetry and essays, and her work appears in such magazines as Granta, Ploughshares, and Vogue. She has a new memoir called The Liars' Club, about growing up with her eccentric and secretive mother.

11:30

Writer Ann Beattie.

Novelist and short-story writer Ann Beattie. In 1976 Beattie published her first novel, "Chilly Scenes of Winter," and since then she has gained a reputation as a writer of the 60's generation. "Chilly Scenes of Winter" was made into a movie by Joan Micklin Silver. Beattie's other books include "Falling in Place," "The Burning House," and "Love Always." Her latest novel is "Picturing Will." (Interview by Sedge Thomson)

28:27

Radical Writer Jessica Mitford

Mitford grew up in a wealthy English family. She cultivated her leftist politics early in life, and became an anti-fascist activist. She joins Fresh Air to talk about her relationship with the Communist Party during the McCarthy era, her early book about the death industry, and growing older.

Did you know you can create a shareable playlist?

Advertisement

There are more than 22,000 Fresh Air segments.

Let us help you find exactly what you want to hear.

Playing

Just play me something
Your Queue

Would you like to make a playlist based on your queue?

Generate & Share View/Edit Your Queue